New Elite Specialisation & Upcoming Beta Details Revealed for Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Today ArenaNet has announced details of the second Beta Weekend Event for Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns, and revealed the next elite specialisation coming with the expansion.

Meet the daredevil, the all-new elite specialisation for the thief profession debuting in Heart of Thorns. The daredevil makes use of enhanced dodge-roll abilities, turning thieves into evasive death dealers that can dominate multiple enemies at a time. The daredevil will also be among several recently revealed elite specialisations that players can try out in the next beta for the first time.

gw2_hot_08-2015_glamour

The next Beta Weekend Event for Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns will begin at 9 p.m. CEST (8 p.m. BST) on Friday, 4th September and will run until 8:59 a.m. CEST (7:59 a.m. BST ) on Monday, 6th September. Access to the second beta weekend will be available to all players who pre-purchase the expansion. In addition to elite specialisations, this second beta gives players even more exciting new content to test as they prepare for the expansion’s release later this year. More information on what’s playable in the upcoming beta weekend is revealed in a new developer blogpost linked here: https://www.guildwars2.com/en-gb/the-second-beta-weekend-event-begins-september-4/

Those who want to know everything that the daredevil is capable of before giving it a test run are advised to read a newly published blogpost dedicated to the specialisation from ArenaNet game designer Karl McLain. The daredevil specialisation blogpost can be read here: https://www.guildwars2.com/en-gb/meet-the-daredevil-thiefs-elite-specialization/

McLain is also this week’s guest on the Points of Interest livestream airing on Friday, August 28th at 9 p.m. CEST (8 p.m. BST) via the official Guild Wars 2 Twitch channel (http://www.twitch.tv/guildwars2). During the broadcast, McLain will demo the daredevil’s new abilities and give fans their first in-game look at the specialisation.

And before you stop reading, here’s just a friendly reminder that ArenaNet are set to make important announcements this Saturday during their PAX Prime presentation titled ‘ Guild Wars 2 – The Journey Ahead’ hosted by ArenaNet President Mike O’Brien and Game Director Colin Johanson. This conference will be streamed live via the official Guild Wars 2 Twitch channel (http://www.twitch.tv/guildwars2) from 6:30 p.m. BST (7:30 p.m. CEST).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About no1phil

no1phil
PR Manager & Editor for XLC Gaming Network. I have been gaming since the ZX Spectrum days growing up through many generations of consoles. A bit of a jack of all trades when it comes to gaming genres. When I'm not either being shot at, dancing, scoring for the other team or racing I am trying to become a guitar God with Rocksmith 2014.